Find out the latest Georgia Dealer License startup information at https://georgiadealer.com or click here to learn how to get a dealer license for car auctions in Georgia.
Before you can open a Georgia used car dealership, you must attend a Dealer Pre-License Training Class. You can attend your 4 hour dealer class in Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon, Savannah, or Valdosta. You can view the entire Georgia Dealer Pre-License Schedule here or click on the Class Schedule link at the top of this webpage. All paperwork that is needed to apply for your Georgia Dealer License is completed in your Dealer Training Class. When you leave your dealer license class, you will be confident and ready to apply for your Georgia Dealer License.
In your dealer license training class we cover the entire startup process, we complete all the dealer license application paperwork, then complete all the paperwork that is required when buying and selling motor vehicles. We try to make it as simple as possible to start your Georgia dealership and follow all State & Federal dealer laws. You can read our dealer reviews to find out what other entrepreneurs are saying about your dealer license training class by clicking here.
Georgia Dealers Licenses are regulated by the Georgia Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers in Macon, Georgia.
How to Get a Georgia Dealer License Podcast
You must register for a fingerprinting criminal background check before you are granted a Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealer License. The State of Georgia wants to ensure they are not granting a dealer license to anyone with a known criminal background, such as stealing a car or embezzling money from an employer. You can begin your Georgia background check by visiting www.ga.cogentid.com to find an approved fingerprinting service.
You must register for your fingerprints, then apply for your license. Once your license is on file with the Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Board, you will be contacted to report to your fingerprint location. You may also call them at 1-888-439-2512. You will be asked an ORI number. Your ORI number will be GA922400Z. Your Verification Code will be 922400Z.
Be sure to include any paperwork you are provided in the packet you send to the Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle dealers.
How Much Does it Cost to Get a Dealers License in Georgia Podcast
The State of Georgia requires you obtain a Georgia dealer surety bond in the amount of $35,000 before you can obtain a Georgia Dealer license. You may obtain a dealer surety bond from most insurance agents or a bonding company. Your dealer surety bond will be dependent on your credit score. If you have good credit, a $35,000 dealer surety bond will cost about $150.00 to $250 per year and will have to be renewed every year. If you have a couple of blemishes on your credit score, the surety bond you obtain before being granted a Georgia Dealer License could cost substantially more the $250.00 per year.
Be sure to include your original dealer surety bond in your dealer application packet so the State of Georgia will grant your dealers license much quicker. We will cover dealer surety bond requirements in your dealer training class. To view the latest Georgia Dealer License Class Schedule click here.
How to Get a Dealer License for Georgia Car Auctions Podcast
The State of Georgia requires you obtain dealer insurance before you are granted a Georgia dealers license. The vehicles that you hold for sale must be insured at all times. The State of Georgia requires all motor vehicles being driven on any roadway to have insurance. This includes the vehicles that you have for sale on our dealer lot. You can never let a customer test drive one of your demos if the demo does not have some type of insurance. You will need to obtain what is known a Georgia Dealer Garage Insurance policy. Garage keepers or automobile liability insurance is not acceptable. You must specifically obtain an insurance policy that contains the words “dealer garage insurance.
You must have amount limits of 50 thousand/100 thousand/25 thousand or a single limit of $125,000. The location on the certificate of insurance must have the exact address of your Georgia dealership location. The “Certificate Holder” must be the State Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA, 31217.
Be sure to include your original certificate of insurance in your Georgia dealer license application packet. You will learn how to obtain the cheapest dealer insurance in your dealer license training class.
The State of Georgia requires you to submit a photograph of your business location before you are granted a used motor vehicle dealer license. They want a record of what your place of business looks like. You must show the building, office area, lot, and sign. You may have to submit more than one photograph to ensure that your photograph requirements are met. If your business is located in a building that houses multiple offices the State of Georgia requires your photograph to show your business name on the marquee of the office complex and a photograph of your suite door with your Georgia dealer license name of the door.
The State of Georgia requires you to have a working telephone in the building that houses your Georgia dealership. According to Georgia statute the working telephone you have must not be a cellular phone or a cordless phone that reaches from another building, which means you must have a land line. You will need to include a copy of your phone bill to ensure that you do in fact have a landline telephone before you are issued your dealer license.
The State of Georgia wants to ensure your customers can contact you if they have questions about a vehicle they have purchased from your or if they have questions about a vehicle they are interested in purchasing from you. In order to maintain a Georgia Dealer License you must be accessible to your customers.
You must apply for a Georgia Sales Tax License before obtaining your dealers license. You may apply for a Georgia Sales Tax license by visiting the Georgia Tax Center. or you may call the Georgia Department of Revenue at 404-417-4490. Be sure to include your Georgia Sales tax license application number or your sales tax number in your dealer license application packet.
In your dealer license training class we will cover this step by step process. When you leave your dealer class you will be able to easily apply for your Georgia Sales Tax License.
You must verify your identity before you obtain your Georgia dealer license. If you are a United States resident 18 years of age or older you must submit a copy of your drivers license, passport, military id, or tribal identification card, nexus card, merchant marine document, or an Employment Authorization Document. If you are not a US citizen but are a legal resident of the United States you must submit a copy of your current immigration documents with either your Alien number or your I-94 number and SEVIS number.
You can download the Georgia Secure and Verifiable Document by clicking here.
You must submit a notarized zoning certification that informs the State of Georgia your Georgia dealership is meeting all local zoning requirements. You may operate your Georgia Dealership from your home if you have met all of your local zoning requirements. Most of Georgia’s urban areas strictly prohibit operating a Georgia dealer lot from your home but most rural areas and some small cities allow this. Be sure to contact your city or county Planning and Zoning office to find out if you can operate a Georgia dealer lot at your location of interererst before you being the linsensure process.
You must have your local Zoning Commissioner sign and notarize a zoning certification, which you must include in your Georgia dealer license application packet. You will learn how to easily find zoning information for your location when you attend your State of Georgia approved dealer license training course. Find a course location near you.
You must attend a mandatory 4 hour pre-dealer license dealer educational seminar before the State of Georgia will grant your dealer license. The Automobile Dealer Training Association Dealer Pre-License Course is approved by the Georgia Board of Used Motor Vehicles and will meet your mandatory dealer pre-license educational requirement. Your class does not have a test but the State of Georgia requires that you set through the entire class.
Once you have attended your dealer license training class you will be confident and prepared to open a car dealership in the State of Georgia.
Be sure to include your certificate of completion provided by your dealer educational provider in your Georgia Dealer License application packet.
Be sure to enclose a check or money order for your dealer license fees of
the State of Georgia may reject your dealer license application.
The current fees are as follows:
Non refundable Georgia dealer application fee: $170.00
Supplemental dealer license application fee for additional locations: $170.00
Dealer license renewal fee due by March 31 of even years: $150.00
Late dealer license renewal fee submitted April 1 and May 31: $250.00
Reinstatement of Georgia dealer license fee after May 31: $420.00
Name and address change $25.00
Duplicate License fee $25.00
License verification letter $25.00
You may call 478-207-2440 to verify the current dealer license fees. Incorrect fees could delay the granting of your dealers license by several weeks. Be sure to enclose payment for the correct dealer license fee.
When mailing your Georgia Dealer License application packet be sure to include your signed, notarized, and fully complete, Georgia Dealer License application, your original certificate of dealer garage insurance, your $35,000 Georgia dealer surety bond, copy of Georgia sales tax number application or sales tax number, proof of fingerprint background check, identity verification, photograph of your business, lot, & sign showing entire business & sign, certification by the local zoning authority, a check or money order for the entire licensure fee.
You will mail in your dealer
license application packet to the Georgia Board of Used Motor Vehicle
Dealers in Macon. You will then be notified to report to your fingerprint
location. After that, you will be contacted for your quick, painless lot
inspection. Once you have completed all the steps you will be notified of
your dealer license approval. At that time you will download your license
then registers at the Georgia Department of Revenue e-Services website to
order your dealer license plates. We will cover this entire process in your
Official Georgia Dealer Pre-License Class. Please
reviews from other persons that have attended the dealer training class.
Click here to read the dealer license class reviews.
If you want to obtain an Georgia
Dealers license all you need to do is obtain a dealer surety
bond and insurance from an insurance agency, obtain a
Federal Tax ID & Georgia Sales Tax License, have your
fingerprints taken, have a building and lot, sit through a 4
hour training course, then submit a Georgia Dealer License
application to the Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealers
Georgia Dealers, Georgia dealers are regulated by the Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Division
Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Division
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 3121
Licensing Boards Division
For more information on obtaining a Georgia Dealer License please visit www.georgiadealer.com
There are several types of dealers licenses in Georgia, here
are the different type of Georgia dealer licenses you have:
New Motor Vehicle Dealer
Used Motor Vehicle Dealer
Wholesale Motor Vehicle Dealer
Motor Vehicle Broker
I want you go in depth in the 6 Steps to an Georgia Dealers License
Step Number 1 Dealer Surety Bond and Insurance
You must obtain a dealer surety bond and insurance in order to obtain an Georgia dealers license. I always recommend this as the first step in obtaining a Georgia dealers license. The cost of a dealer surety bond is based on your credit score and the cost of your insurance is based upon your driving record. I am often asked what it costs to obtain a Georgia dealers license and I can never answer that question accurately because the total cost will depend on your credit score and your driving record.
The State of Georgia requires you to obtain a $35,000 dealer surety bond in order to be granted a Georgia dealers license, is the bond going to cost you $35,000, of course not, with good credit you should be spending about 150 to 250 dollars a year for your bond, your insurance company will normally send you an invoice every year or every other year. If you have a couple of blemishes on your credit score, the price of your bond can increase dramatically. The bond must be a surety bond eecuted by an insurance or bonding company authorized to do business in Georgia,
You will need a $35,000 dealer surety bond if you are selling used motor vehicles and would only need a $10,000 dealer surety bond if you are only selling used motor vehicle parts
a. Bond must epire on March 31 of even years.
b. Bond must be in eact name of the business.
c. Bond must be an original and have “power of attorney” attached.
d. Bond must be signed and you should keep a copy for your files.
e. NOTE: A separate Bond is required for each licensed location. A power of attorney must be attached to the bond.
The bond must be signed by the individual, all partners (if a partnership) or one corporate officer (if incorporated). Bonds may not be handwritten and must contain all required signatures and an embossed stamp, seal or sticker.
You must also obtain a special insurance policy before the State of Georgia will allow you to have a dealers license. Your insurance policy pricing will be dependent on your driving record so if you have a really bad driving record, you might pay a lot more for your insurance. You must also obtain an insurance policy that will cover the vehicles that are in your inventory. The State of Georgia requires every vehicle driven on any roadway in the state to have insurance, including the vehicles in your inventory when they are being test driven by your customers.
You also need to obtain a dealer garage policy with not less than $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident, personal injury liability and $25,000 property damage liability,
An ORIGINAL CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE on an Acord Form (provided by insurance agency) indicating: a. Policy number
b. Limit Amounts – minimum of 50K/100K/25K, or single limit of $125,000 (GARAGE LIABILITY COVERAGE must be shown; AUTOMOBILE LIABILITY ONLY will not be accepted)
c. “Location” on certificate must show eact name and address as shown on application.
d. “Certificate Holder” must be State Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA. 31217
Step 2-Federal Tax ID Number and Georgia Sales Ta number
Before you apply for a Georgia dealers license you must obtain a Federal Tax ID Number and a Georgia Sales Ta number.
Step 3 Fingerprints
When you easily obtain your fingerprints, you are automatically have a background check conducted. The State of Georgia requires dealers to be of a higher ethical standard than the average person walking down the street. Very soon you will have oversight over very large financial transactions. Most of the vehicles you sell with your dealers licenses will be worth several thousands of dollars. This are very large financial transactions that the State of Georgia is allowing you complete oversight. So, before the State of Georgia approves your dealers license, they want to make sure you never rolled back odometers, they want to make sure you have never stolen a car, the State of Georgia wants to make sure they are not giving a dealers license to someone that was managing some auto theft ring. As I stated a moment ago, the state of Georgia requires dealer to be high ethical standards so you a background check will be ran on you when you obtain your mandatory fingerprints.
Before I show you how to get started, we will have to register for an fingerprint appointment online and pay for the fingerprints in advance. So in other words, you will go online, schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints taken, and pay for the fingerprints in advance using a website called Gemalto. IF you have any questions regarding your fingerprints, or want to schedule your fingerprint by phone you can call 1-888-439-2512.
If you live in another state but are obtaining a dealers license in Georgia, you will need to request a fingerprint card so you can get your fingerprints taken in your home state.
Let’s take a look at this process, and once again I am going to magnify the screen shots so you can see a little better, and for just a few brief moments, you will not have to look at my head, lucky you!
After you have completed those steps you will be able to have your
First magnify the application so you can see it a little better
In order to be granted an Georgia dealers license you must pass a background cheick that is conducted when you obtain your fingerprints. Each partner and each applicant who owns 20% or more of the dealership and when obtaining a dealers license for the first time must provide a personal history form and fingerprint card to enable the State to conduct a criminal records check.
Step 4-Building & Lot
You must have a building for your Georgia dealers license. Your business building must be a permanent enclosed building owned or leased by you, The established place of business must be devoted mainly to the operation of your dealership
A dealer may use a trailer as you building but state law requires you to remove the wheels.
Whether you are a retail dealer , broker, or a wholesale dealer you must meet local zoning requirements. You can contact the city hall or county court house’s planning a zoning division to ensure the location you want to use as your dealership meets all local zoning requirements for an Georgia Dealers license. Applicants should contact their local city or county office to ensure compliance with local zoning ordinances.
The dealer shall conduct business in a building on the same property as the display lot. If the dealer is a used car broker, and will not display an inventory of vehicles for sale, the requirements of this rule for an established place of business shall still be met, with the eception of the display area for vehicles. That would be for brokers. All sales activity must take place at the lot, you cannot sell vehicles away from the lot unless you are selling vehicles at a dealer auction
You must also have also have installed and maintain a working land line telephone whose number shall be listed in the licensee's trade name, the same as that which is listed in the application and in any advertising. You must also erect and maintain a permanent sign. The sign shall list the trade name of the dealer, the same as that which is listed in the application and in any advertisement by the dealer. If the telephone number is listed on the sign, it shall be the phone number listed in the application and in any advertisement by the dealer.
The sign must be professionally designed on permanent material, and the lettering applied on the sign shall be a minimum of si inches in height. At least one sign must be located and positioned to be clearly visible to consumers from the street. Signs painted on the building, or on the door or window of the building are allowed, as long as the painted sign meets local ordinances a
A used motor vehicle dealer may operate from an office suite in an office comple, provided that the facility meets all the critera required by State law.
Georgia dealers may operate from a residential address, as long as local ordinances allow a dealership in a residential area. The requirement for an appropriate permanent sign must be met at the location. The office of the used motor vehicle dealer shall be a separate building that is detached from the residence.
All Georgia dealer applications must be include non-returnable photograph or photographs which shall be maintained as a permanent part of the application. The photograph or photograph must show the inside and outside of the building, along with the official sign.
Step 5- 4 Hour License Class
Georgia State law requires any person obtaining a Georgia dealers license for the first time to attend a 4 hour pre-license class.
AsThe Automobile Dealer Training Association is approved to provide your 4-hour dealer pre-license course. Dealer classes are held in Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon, Savannah, and Valdosta. You will be able to find a location near you. There is no test in the course but the State law requires you sit through the entire course. Just click the link below to find a Georgia Dealer Pre-License Course near you:
Step 6-Complete Application
The final step you need to do to obtain an Georgia dealers license is to complete an Georgia dealer license application in it’s entirety.
If you make mistakes on the application it will be returned, so you want to spend some time and ensure there are not mistakes on the application.
A separate application must be submitted for each type of license, entity change, change location or name change, branch or subsequent dealer license.
If there is a change in business entity, after you become a licensed dealer, a new application must be submitted with all applicable paperwork, including a new bond and a new dealer license number will be assigned.
You can download your application at the www.sos.ga.gov, lets take a look at an Georgia dealers license application: once again I want to magnify the screen shots and once again you will have a brief respite from looking at my head.
Once you obtain your Georgia dealers license you must display the license prominently, you are going to work hard to obtain your Georgia dealers license, you are going to be proud when you obtain your Georgia dealers license, Georgia law requires that you display your dealers license prominently when it is granted, don’t shuve it in some desk drawer, or lock in in a vault, frame your official Georgia dealers license and display it on the wall, all Georgia dealers licenses must be displayed prominently
Be sure to include the following documents with your Georgia dealer license application:
Dealer Surety Bond & Insurance
Dealer Seminar Certificate
Copy of Sales Ta License
Photographs of Inside, Outside of Building & Sign
Check or Money Order For License Fees
Then you will mail your dealer application to the following address
Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Division
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 3121
If you have questions you can call the Licensing Boards Division at
When you submit your application correctly you should receive your Georgia Dealers license in about 30 days.
Georgia Law requires that all dealers license are displayed prominently, you are going to work hard to obtain your dealers license, you are going to be proud when you receive your Georgia dealers license, so don’t throw the dealers license in the back of some drawer or lock it in a vault, display your dealers license prominently, this is Georgia
If you have any questions concerning the application process for a Georgia dealers license, please contact the Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Division at 478-207-1460.